… must be an excellent communicator.

I am amused by the qualifications stated in job descriptions and want ads.  “Must be an excellent communicator,” is the most abused.  How many people are excellent communicators?  How many people are even excellent listeners (which is arguably the most important skill in communication.)  Yet write-ups for call center operators, administrative assistants, engineers, and executives always include this as a ‘must have.’  I don’t know about you, but I honestly haven’t come across many excellent communicators anywhere in organizations, and especially in the senior ranks where it seems communication is all about sending messages out through organizations and rarely encouraging message flow back.

Early in my career I had a conversation with the CEO of a large company during a planning session break.  He asked what my degrees were in and I told him an MBA and a Masters in Communications.  Then he said something I’ve always remembered:  “Communication.  Hmmm.  That’s about all we do in management isn’t it?”

What are you doing to improve the communication skills of your management team?  If you want some ideas, give me a call.

Leave a Reply

